Stand Tall Like the Chakra Goddess

My very talented cousin Jess helped me design the perfect logo for my teaching practice. The Chakra Goddess, as I call her, is a visual aid for learning the location of the 7 primary chakras.

The chakras are kind of like doors through energy flows into and out of the body. They are not stagnant, they are fluctuating, always spinning, sometimes they are open wide, sometimes the funnel narrows. A healthy chakra spins in a balanced spiral motion and is in sync with the rest of the energetic anatomy. 

If they get blocked or out-of-whack you can feel it! If this pattern continues for long periods of time your body may develop physical manifestations of dis-ease. Every physical ailment can be connected back to an energetic blockage in one of your primary chakras.

For example, chronic migraines are a symptom of a blockage in the Third Eye Chakra, or Ajna in Sakskrit.  Stomach problems are connected to the Solar Plexus Chakra, or Manipura. Heart disease and lung disease can be linked to imbalances in the Heart Chakra, or Anahata.

Healing with the Chakras does not replace modern medical attention, but it can help you heal more efficiently, decrease the experience of suffering during the healing process, and even help you avoid developing similar ailments again in the future. 

The Chakra Goddess - Chakra Lady Logo 

The Chakra Goddess - Chakra Lady Logo 

Stand Tall Like the Chakra Goddess - Guided Meditation

Stand in Mountain Pose.

Your feet should be close together, or hip distance apart. Put your arms down at your side, palms facing out and pull your shoulders back. Gently stretch the heart upward and forward slightly. Pull your navel in towards the spine slightly. Close your eyes and breathe slowly and steadily through the nostrils. 

Visualize Your Chakras

Turn your gaze upward towards your third eye to stimulate the Pineal gland (the visualization center of your brain). Begin at the first chakra, the Root Chakra, at the base of the spine. Focus here for at least 10 deep breaths. Imagine a spinning wheel or a whirlpool. Remember to breathe steadily. You will know it is time to move on when you feel a great sense of calm in this region (trust your intuition). 

Bring your awareness to the second chakra, the Sacral Chakra. Repeat the visualization of the spinning wheel and continue breathing steadily. Move through each of the remaining chakras slowly, taking your time and trusting your inner guidance system to tell you when it is time to move to the next energy center. 

Seal the Deal

When you are finished balancing the crown chakra, located slightly above the top of your head, take a deep breath in and lift your arms up overhead (similar to the Chakra Goddess pose). Hold the breath for several seconds and apply root lock. This can be achieved by tightening the muscles around the anus and genitals and pull the navel in slightly. Release the breath and root lock as you lower your arms back to your sides, sweeping your Aura, the powerful electromagnetic field surrounding the physical body, as you return to Mountain Pose. 

Benefits of this Practice

This practice will help balance your seven primary chakras and increase your awareness of your energetic anatomy. It helps you stay grounded and find clarity. The physical benefits are similar to that of Mountain Pose, which helps to strengthen and tone the muscles of legs, align the vertebrae of the spine and improve posture. 

If done regularly this exercise can improve your sense of well being and increase self confidence. I recommend doing this first thing in the morning or right before bed. Please drink plenty of water before and after the practice to increase circulation and support cellular functioning.